Hazard Mitigation Plan Update

Hazard Mitigation Planning for Chittenden County

What is the Chittenden County Multi-Jurisdictional All-Hazards Mitigation Plan?

The Multi-Jurisdictional All Hazards Mitigation Plan addresses significant hazards in Chittenden County and the Town of Milton, including Severe Rainstorms, Flooding, Fluvial Erosion and Water Pollution and their associated vulnerabilities such as damage to public infrastructure; temporary road and bridge closures; temporary isolation of vulnerable individuals and budgetary impacts.

The Plan establishes the following six Regional Mitigation strategies to be carried out by the Chittenden County Regional Planning Committee (CCRPC) in partnership with its member municipalities and others. These include:

  • #1: Assist municipalities with development of plans, policies and land development regulations;
  • #2: Aromote municipal participation in development and implementation of Tactical Basin Plans;
  • #3: Assist municipalities to develop and improve infrastructure;
  • #4: Assist municipalities in protecting people, building and facilities where development already exists;
  • #5: Assist municipalities in promoting growth in appropriate locations and in transportation infrastructure planning, and
  • #6: Assist municipalities in meeting standards to minimize required municipal share towards FEMA Public Assistance project costs.

The Town of Milton has a Local All-Hazard Mitigation Plans (AHMP), which is an annex to the Multi-Jurisdictional Plan. 

The Multi-Jurisdictional All Hazards Mitigation Plan and annexes can be found on the CCRPC's Website and below.

Multi-Jurisdictional All Hazards Mitigation Plan Documents